Thankfully coffee

Do I get to say, thankfully it’s over? November I mean. Well it’s almost over and I am beyond pooped, to say the least. Welcome to this, first edition of Thankfully coffee. The thing I invented to combine both a coffee post with a 10 Things of Thankful. For those who don’t know either of these things – don’t worry – it’s not fretfully important. Bloggers like to link up with each-other from time to time. Today I’ll be serving the bloggers version of a combo. So, instead of a quarter chicken and four hundred kilos of spare rib (and everyone who’s ever been to a Spur is now picturing their last visit)

We’ll be having an if we were having coffee chat over an additional serving of “10 Things of Thankful”.

1 – Blogging

Thankfully it’s over is not really a thankful is it? Nay, it be one of them things we say to brush off a bad experience. November came with a really bad one for me. You can read all about it, if you are so inclined. I wrote that post while everything was still happening. It was my way of processing things and has helped me tremendously come to terms with the reality of the situation. For this I’m truly thankful. Thankful for blogging – since some things would not be the same in a private journal. Saying something openly and publicly is beneficial – if you know the right way to do so.

There is a right and a wrong way; especially for someone such as myself with various issues paranoia and anxiety among the list. For now this blog remains blissfully under the radar for anyone who knows me in real life. That will probably change at the latest with the release of my novel (still a work in progress).ย  My hope is that if anyone ever did decide to dig through my archives there will be posts I can say – yes I wrote that and I’m proud to have done so. It’s a thing with writers. How much of yourself do you let out into the words you are creating? How much is needed to truly reach people and to be real? This has always been and will always be a problem for someone like me.

typewriter-bleed-quote

2 – Freedom to choose

Here’s the thing though and I could list this as a next thankful, no one is forcing me to do anything here. When it comes to writing this is a choice, my choice. This is not something I must do. Blogging, writing and any other creative outlets you see here on this blog are things I choose to do – although I’m highly compelled to do soย  – it is still a choice and a good one at that.

3 – NaNoWriMo 2015 Winner

Talking about “my writing” and stuff – if we where having coffee – your face would waved full of a copy of this:NaNoWriMo-2015-certificate

Which is also my third thankful, for those counting.

4 – Rest

I have however really been pushing my boundaries. I threw myself into my novel after earlier mentioned bad event. It’s the way I fly. Forget about the sorrow and dream up a story. It’s always been a coping mechanism, since childhood. Although I still got about a chapter and a half to write, I’ve decided to give myself the day off from the novel to allow some rest.

5 – Vitamins

I’ve been pushing myself much too hard after my ordeal. Consequently, my body has called a big STOP on that. The body has a way to tell us when enough is enough. We need to head its advice. I will survive the sinusitis though – so no sweat. Which brings me to my fifth thankful. If we were having coffee I’d probably have a discussion with you on the wonderful benefits of vitamins. Things such as Vitamin C, En-china extract, Zink – things I’m now dosing my entire family with – so that they don’t get my germs.

6 – Running tap water

If we were having coffee, we’d certainly be talking about impending water crisis. The region has been hit with one of the worst droughts in very many years. Today our water was cut for about an hour. This was probably due to some emergency maintenance. It made me think of how thankful I need to be for running water from the tap. There are now parts in South Africa where the residents don’t have any running water. So the sixth thankful will go to running water and everything that goes with it. I can still take a shower. I can still wash my cloths. I can wash my dishes and clean my house. These are things we so often take for granted – that is until we no longer have them.

7 – the LOL moments

It has not all been doom and gloom. There have been things that made me laugh out loud – which is my seventh thankful.

8 – the “that’s so beautiful moments”

And things that made me cry are my eight thankful. I hear you say what? Read me out here, or more accurately go read this, and tell me that was not a wonderful way to have spent a few minutes of your day?

9 – WordPress help

My ninth thankful goes to wordpress. With all the changes they keep on making here – things don’t always work as they should. I e-mailed one of the wordpess fellows, since I’m having problems setting up my podcast. The solution he has given me does actually work and up until now they have not charged me for the solution. Perhaps it’s time I say thank you and simply take the offered solution. This means my pod-casting is a go.

10 – Coffeh

And the tenth thankful goes to the obvious. Coffeh, as a friend has dubbed the wonderful brew.

coffee-and-reading

 

And as a bonus, remember that you are only human. And while some may see this as weakness there is a certain beauty that lies in our fragility, that society does not often cherish.

“But I’m only human
And I bleed when I fall down
I’m only human
And I crash and I break down
Your words in my head, knives in my heart
You build me up and then I fall apart
‘Cause I’m only human”

(Christina Perry – I’m only human)

 

34 thoughts on “Thankfully coffee”

  1. Welcome to the TToT! it is truly the finest among bloghopsโ€ฆ
    I liked your list, I enjoy (for a variety of reasons) hearing about what people go through as part of the process of writing, and, for that matter, what people put themselves through, for that same endeavor.
    coffee is a good thing too, of course

    Like

  2. I love that you’re combining the two hops. And I’m so glad that you’re treating yourself gently and celebrating your successes, and that you’re still finding ways to laugh. Life in silver linings, my friend xo

    Like

      1. “Who cares” of course was meant as, “I’m going to say it again anyway because I really mean it” ๐Ÿ˜‰ Once is great but three times is impressive.

        Like

  3. congrats on the writing whoop whoop…

    Yep water hey, its the lil things, opening a tap and water comes or flipping a switch and the lights come on …. because loadshedding ^_^

    interesting list of things to be thankful about
    ~B

    Like

  4. Congrats on the nano win! That’s quite an accomplishment.
    We were without running clean water for an overnight a while back. We’d be in a world of hurt if it went on much longer than that. We take running water, or any water at all for that matter, for granted like no other thing. When you are without it for even just an hour, you suddenly realize how many times a day you reach for that faucet or toilet handle.
    Being able to laugh through even the most difficult of days is a gift. For sure.

    Like

  5. Enjoyed meeting you Sarina. I had a bit of a think about being grateful this week in response to the November theme for 1000 Voices for Compassion: Gratitude. https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/11/22/the-wisdom-of-gratitude-1000speak/
    Well done on completing Nano and being a winner. It’s quite an achievement.
    I haven’t considered doing Nano and November is a very busy month for us. We live in Sydney and it’s Summer and coming up to the end of the year, we’re always flat out.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I hate coffee, but I love Christina Perri!
    I often think about how grateful I am for running water. I have friends who live in Haiti, and that’s not something they always have.

    Like

Leave a Reply

