A is for Affirmation. A to Z Challenge on Wellness

“As he thinketh in his heart, so is he.” – Proverbs 23:7

It all starts in your mind, right? Success, happiness – paradise on earth. So they say. Have you ever thought that you cannot control your thinking? “Think positive,” is what all these motivation guru’s and self-help books say. There must be something to it. However, for some of us, this is easier said than done.
Enter this thing called

AAffirmations

Affirmation is a method to help you control your thinking.

“It’s the repetition of affirmations that leads to belief. And once that belief becomes a deep conviction, things begin to happen.” – Claude M. Bristol

It may come as a shock to anyone reading my blog, yet I tend to sway more on the side of realism than optimism. That realism can easily turn to pessimism depending on the outlook of the situation. The glass is either half, dot or alternatively, the glass is half-empty.

The way we think is often hardwired into the core way our brain functions. Much of it comes through to us from our subconscious. Moreover, it is very difficult to change the thinking patterns of a part of us, hidden underneath layers of brain activity.
This is where Affirmations come in. Affirmations or what I have recently seen referred to “setting intensions” are a way to convince your subconscious that you are what you want to be.

Let me be perfectly realistic here. This is not going to change your life overnight. It is not the one and only tool to help you to healthy thinking and success. Rather used in conjunction with other methods it can be very useful to you. Additionally, what floats my boat – may sink yours. We are not all wired the same way. Used correctly, I do not see using affirmations harming anyone. Okay, if someone notices – he may perceive you as weirdo number one. Frankly, the opinion of other people should matter very little to you. If something is helpful to you and not harming anyone or anything else then it is none of their beeswax.

Affirmations

“Right thinking begins with the words we say to ourselves.” – James Allen (As a man thinketh, 1903)

Right on, let me show you how to get the most out of this technique.

Firstly, you need to think about an intention you want to manifest in your life. You need to phrase it in such a manner that it does not have any negative connotations. With affirmations, how you use your words is everything. This is a method to communicate to your subconscious. Keep it simple. Then put it in present-tense. Additionally, you need to be comfortable with your affirmation.

Some every day affirmation examples:

  • I radiate success, and I prosper wherever I turn.
  • I am creating more and more of what I want effortlessly.
  • I am attracting like-minded people who help me fulfill my desires.
  • My co-workers love me and I love them.
  • I rest well. I sleep peacefully and I awaken with joy.
  • I have the strength and the knowledge to handle everything in my life.

If you don’t feel comfortable with the words “I am” or “I have” You can use words such as “I choose” or “I intend”.

Once you have your affirmation down, write it on little sticky notes and put it in places you would easily see. Your mirror, your computer screen, etc. Make sure you read them and say them aloud several times a day.

Bonus tip:

Now if you really want this to take effect in your life you will say and think on your affirmations before you start meditating. (If you do yoga, before you start your yoga session.) Clear your mind by concentrating on your breath. Bring the attention of your breath to your heart (heart chakra) and then say your affirmation or bring your focus to it, as you would do with a mantra. Once you have done this a few times – concentrate on your meditation the way you would normally do it. Concentrate on one attention per day, for a few days – before moving on to the next one.

Further reading and resources:

www.hayhouse.com sells an annual lifestyle calendar which focuses on intentions, affirmations and positive thinking.
Additionally, check out the article I pinned for further reading.

Here’s my personal affirmation for the day: Everyone who reads this post will effortlessly hit that follow button. 😉

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

 

About the Author

profile-pic-2Sarina often sat on the peaks of the dunes of Southern Africa watching the ocean tide drift in. A daydreamer, often dreaming up stories for lands somewhere over the rainbow. She is a mother, a wife, a blogger and an overall creative spirit. Above all, she is a human being.

Find her here:

instagrampinterest

facebook

twitter

9 thoughts on “A is for Affirmation. A to Z Challenge on Wellness”

  1. Great post! I am mostly an affirmative thinker, unless doubts creep in too much… It is so important to believe in ourselves, to trust our capacities, strengths etc.
    I am already following, so do you have another affirmation for me to follow 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh wow, your post is amazing. It resonates so well with what I’m living right now!. I’m a realistic pessimist (which got me in some hot water when I was confronted to someone delusionally optimistic).
    And it’s true that the way we think can’t be change that easily, especially if we are stuck in a slow downward pattern. The kind that starts with just a tiny doubt about your own skills and ends up, years later, with thinking you can’t do it, you will never be able to do it, and the “think positive” looks like a mountain to climb when you don’t even know where that mountain is.
    Affirmation. Little steps, easier to understand, and grounded in reality instead of possible awesome future. Love the way your post made me think
    Thanks a lot for this great post, I’m looking forward to what you’ll come up with next!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like to think that some people get up in the morning and just find themselves happy, full of life and energy. Your “delusional optimist” may be someone like that. They find it hard understanding that some other people may need a little bit more to get going. Thanks for stopping by and reading. 🙂

      Like

  3. When I find my thoughts going to the negative, I talk myself around by reminding myself that being negative/miserable about something will have no affect on the outcome, so may as well put a smile on!
    Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

