C is for Chakra. A to Z Challenge on wellness

Energy. Throughout life, there is a constant flow, an exchange of energy. The moon circles the earth. The earth revolves around the sun. The sun orbits the Milky Way galaxy…. Yea, really! On an atomic level (very small) – there is the same model in place. At the center of the atom, we have a nucleus. The electrons of that atom orbit the nucleus. So what does all of this have to do with the chakra? Absolutely nothing and absolutely everything. My point is that everything in this universe is comprised of energy. Everything is always in motion. Energy flows.

There are seven main energy centers in the human body. These my friend are called:



Similarly, as you cannot see the force of gravity which is responsible for the moon orbiting the earth you cannot see these energy centers. But, they are there.

So why should we care?

Well, some say “harnessing your spiritual energy can lead to better moods, better sleep, and better sex.”
Some natural healers use knowledge of the Chakra. You may have heard of energy healers or Reiki masters. Then you may have heard of people who can teach you how to write or express yourself from the heart. The heart is one of the chakras. We can learn to do these things on our own.
While this knowledge may not change your life today, it can defiantly rock your world. A revelation of the energy that flows through this universe and yourself can be the shift in perspective you may need to get un-stuck. No one can really predict how this could change your life. A journey of self-discovery of this class is unique to each individual.
Note that I intentionally used the word “revelation” above. I cannot give you a revelation. This is something you must obtain for yourself. I can give you the basic textbook idea. Like with anything in life what you do with this knowledge is up to you.

The Chaka’s


As I said, there are seven main energy wheels in the human body. Each has its unique identifying color and is associated with psychological functions, emotion, physiological function, and glands. Healers will use this knowledge to stimulate health.

1.  The Root Chakra (Muladhara)

The first chakra is located at the bottom of your torso /base of the spine and is called the root chakra. Its color is red. It is the chakra for vitality and life force. Thoughts of money and security, for example, will stimulate this energy wheel.

2.  The Spleen Chakra (also called Sacral Chakra – Svadisthan)

The second chakra is linked with the color orange and is found in your lower abdomen. Here is where your passion and desire lives. Projects, experiences and people that feed our creativity and awaken or sexual desire all fuel this wheel.

3. The Solar Plexus (Manipura)

Yellow, is the color of the Solar Plexus – the third chakra. It is situated in the upper abdomen in the stomach area. At this energy wheel, we find our will power, our ego and our sense of self-worth. It is this chakra, which will drive our purpose.

4. The Heart Chakra (Anahata)

At the center of our chest, we find our heart, right? Yea, it is also called the heart chakra. Its color is green and its identifying feeling is compassion, gratitude and unconditional love. The heart connects the first three “physical chakras” with the other three “spiritual chakras.”

5. The Throat Chakra (Vishuddh)

As the name suggests the throat chakra is placed at the throat. In men, the fifth chakra can be found at the Adam’s apple. Its color is blue. Here’s where we realize (surprise, surprise) our true and authentic voice. Communication and creative expression stem from this center.

6. The Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

At the center of your forehead is set the third eye chakra. The color indigo is associated with the sixth chakra. It is the center of intuition, psychic abilities and imagination. Here lies fearlessness, understanding, and memory. It gives the ability to see the world as it truly is.

7. The Crown chakra (Sahasrara)

At the top most part of our head, we find the crown chakra. This violet energy crown radiates wisdom, inspiration, and joy of being in the present moment.

Further reading:

As I mentioned all of these are also have associated body areas. A blocked or not properly performing chakra may contribute to certain health problems. A comprehensive chart of the chakras along with the associated physical dysfunction can be discovered at chakraenergy.com.
The internet is full of information. I have stumbled on chakra-anatomy.com as a comprehensive source. Also, the below post pinned from elephanjournal.com may be of benefit.

Interesting, isn’t it? Why don’t you see what else I have to offer?

About the Author

profile-pic-2Sarina often sat on the peaks of the dunes of Southern Africa watching the ocean tide drift in. A daydreamer, often dreaming up stories for lands somewhere over the rainbow. She is a mother, a wife, a blogger and an overall creative spirit. Above all, she is a human being.

Find her here:








Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,097 other followers



14 thoughts on “C is for Chakra. A to Z Challenge on wellness”

      1. It’s a good word for the year. Balance is so important for everything we do and also what we eat. Where the Chakra is concerned if one is out of whack the rest need to compensate. That’s not good for balance. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s