M is for Mindfulness #AtoZChallenge on #Wellness

“There is only this moment. You should have good looking, nice fitting jeans to go with it”

Did I just quote myself? I guess I did. No better time to do so than the present. And no, I’m not actually that cocky. But, I needed to get your attention. How am I doing? Have I got you engaged in what you are presently reading? You see, today I’d like to take the opportunity and talk about something I’ve recently discovered. In essence, it has been around for thousands of years, but only recently has become popular. The word on all the wellness sites these days is:

MMindfulness

Mindfulness is about being present in the current moment. It means doing one thing at a time and being fully engaged in that activity. It means driving, and not thinking about what you are going to be cooking for dinner. It means writing and not checking your Facebook notifications when you ought to be writing. You get?
BeMindful.co.uk describes mindfulness as such:

“Mindfulness is a mental state achieved by focusing one’s awareness on the present moment while calmly acknowledging and accepting feelings, thoughts, and bodily sensations.”

Mindfulness has its roots in the Buddhist tradition but has now been converted into an everyday solution within the wellness and health circles. Therapies have been developed to help people cope with anxiety, stress, and depression. Again, according to BeMindful.co.uk one such therapy is defined as follows:

“Mindfulness-Based Cognitive Therapy (MBCT) was designed specifically to help people who are prone to recurring depression. It combines mindfulness techniques like meditation, breathing exercises and stretching, with elements from cognitive therapy to help break the negative thought patterns that are characteristic of recurrent depression.”

Oh yes, this is something I need to learn. Obviously, there aren’t people in my neck of the woods that teach MBCT. So I’ve been doing my utmost best to teach myself to be more mindful.
Mindfulness is such a huge topic there are very many blogs dedicated to the subject. I find everyone could benefit from a daily dose of mindfulness here and there.

mindfulness

A little everyday problem

Many women – including myself – have problems accepting our looks the way we are at the present moment. I actually have denim jeans which would have looked great on me ten years ago – still tucked away in my closet. Obviously, I do not fit in it at this point and time. I don’t really like clothes shopping. I have this wrong notion, that I should lose weight before allowing myself to do so. In the meanwhile, I wear clothes that look shabby. All because I can’t accept my current weight. The mindful solution: Getting denim jeans that would look good on me now.
In essence, this is mindfulness – somewhat oversimplified.

Mindfulness is a way of life that looks at everything we do and how we do it. From what we eat to how spend our time. There is Meditation specially designed with mindfulness in mind. Mindfulness is everyday. Mindfulness is now.

Further reading:

If this subject tickles your fancy, check out the below pin from my favorite mindful and wellness website.

 

About the Author

profile-pic-2Sarina often sat on the peaks of the dunes of Southern Africa watching the ocean tide drift in. A daydreamer, often dreaming up stories for lands somewhere over the rainbow. She is a mother, a wife, a blogger and an overall creative spirit. Above all, she is a human being.

Find her here:

instagrampinterest

facebook

twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

7 thoughts on “M is for Mindfulness #AtoZChallenge on #Wellness”

  1. Very simple, but not easy. Our lives are filled with an overload of thoughts and responsibilities. Stopping and breathing to be in the moment is a valuable tool for mindfulness. I am sincerely enjoying your posts during this challenge.

    Like

Leave a Reply

