Z is for Zen. #AtoZChallenge on #Wellness

Before starting this challenge I must confess my notion of today’s subject was a bit different to what it actually is.

ZZen, in my own interpretation would have been: a state of mind you achieve by loads of mediation. Kind of like a meditation high. Because let me tell you, one can defiantly go on a trip during meditation.

While my opinion may have been somewhat off the mark, I was not completely wrong. Zen is a way of thinking achieved by mindfulness meditation.

My Concise Oxford Dictionary states that Zen is:

“Form of Buddhism emphasizing value of meditation and intuition.”

I do not believe that mediation is only for Buddhists. In truth, I know very little about the Buddhist traditions. However, I’ve been meditating on and off for years.

Zen is defiantly an abstract concept. This is why I won’t go further into the things you can learn while sitting still. Honestly, to fully understand the value of it, you have to experience it for yourself.

I will instead end this challenge with a few Zen quotes.

“Zen is not an art, it’s not a religion. It’s a realization.”
Gene Clark

“Peace comes from within. Do not seek it without.”
Buddha

For these and other Zen quotes check out: Zenbegin.net 

I hope you have enjoyed my A to Z posts on the theme of wellness. And last but not least, this is one of my favorite “Zen Quotes” from the Star Wars franchise. I leave you with the very wise words of Yoda:

“Fear is the path to the dark side. Fear leads to anger. Anger leads to hate. Hate leads to suffering”

yoda-fear-quote

About the Author

profile-pic-2Sarina often sat on the peaks of the dunes of Southern Africa watching the ocean tide drift in. A daydreamer, often dreaming up stories for lands somewhere over the rainbow. She is a mother, a wife, a blogger and an overall creative spirit. Above all, she is a human being.

Find her here:

instagrampinterest

facebook

twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

5 thoughts on “Z is for Zen. #AtoZChallenge on #Wellness”

Leave a Reply

