An introverted Weekend Coffee Share on books, bloodsuckers and pregnancy

I love coffee. I love slurping (quite noisily) the hot brew. I love the feeling of that rich and creamy liquid down my throat. However if we were having coffee, I’d be smelling your coffee in yearning – while I sip some hot chocolate or Rooibos tea. You see, I’m down to one cup of coffee per day –which I have already had.

I’m not feeling talkative. I feel more like wrapping myself in a cocoon of snug familiarity and nonsocial activity. Even blogging and Social Media seems too social for me right now.

If we were having coffee, I’d abruptly jump up without a word and leave you hanging in the middle of a sentence. I’d come back with the pictures we took the end of April. It is a Sonar of a 12-week fetus. And yes, I’m indeed pregnant. Having had a miscarriage in November I’m a bit apprehensive about telling people. Medically however everything seems fine, this time, round so I’m trying to think positive.

Perhaps we’d chat about the books we may have recently read and which we are planning to pick up soon. I put up two short reviews on Goodreads for two very different brands of books.

WeekendCoffeeShare-2016-pic

Both are worth your time if that is your thing. It’s odd how blogging has changed my reading choices. Directly before I started blogging, I’d only read Urban Fantasy. I preferred series and would tentatively test the first pages of a previously un-known Author. Charlene Harris and Kim Harrison were some of my favorites.

Let me tell you the Sookie Stackhouse book series by Charlaine Harris, is defiantly much better than the True Blood Television show based on them. They could have made manny more seasons if they had only stuck with the original storyline. Sometimes it’s different, though. I did not even make it through the first book on which the Vampire Diaries series is based. I liked the TV series more.
And when it comes to Kim Harrison’s – Rachel Morgan series, Hollywood is seriously missing out on what could make a kick – ass show.

That being said, Anne Rice’s classics, and I’m not just talking about the Vampire stories here, are all a brilliant read. I love the way she can bring an ancient character into life in modern day. If you are not into vampires, you may try something like “Servant of the Bones”. That supernatural historical novel is truly worth reading.

Talking about Vampires, I’ve gotten my all-time favorite PC game to work again. It’s an old game from 2004. Unfortunately, it’s not compatible with the newer versions of Windows and I was unable to even get it working on my updated PC. Luckily, the game has a hard-core following of loyal fans who keep writing updated patches to fix the glitches and make the game work in newer versions of Windows. Vampires the Masquerade Bloodlines kept me busy all day yesterday. I did tell you that I felt like wrapping myself in a cocoon of familiarity and nonsocial activity.

As for this blog, it’s been more like a Ghost Town after the A to Z Challenge. I’m planning on writing a 2016 Reflection post for next week’s link up. There is also a post I’ve already finished writing which I have sitting on my PC. I’m a bit tentative of publishing it. It is somewhat of a strong feminine orientated opinion piece on a sensitive subject. If that thing should go viral, I’d defiantly have some trolls flying up in my face. I don’t know if I’d enjoy the attention.
Thanks for joining me for coffee. I always do appreciate you coming round.

About the Author

profile-pic-2Sarina often sat on the peaks of the dunes of Southern Africa watching the ocean tide drift in. A daydreamer, often dreaming up stories for lands somewhere over the rainbow. She is a mother, a wife, a blogger and an overall creative spirit. Above all, she is a human being.

Find her here:

instagrampinterest

facebook

twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

25 thoughts on “An introverted Weekend Coffee Share on books, bloodsuckers and pregnancy”

  1. Oh Sarina, congratulations! Many hugs and a great remaining pregnancy. I hope you didn’t have too much morning (day, evening, night, all day) sickness.
    Have a great weekend.

    Like

  2. Congratulations on your pregnancy! Oh it does feel slightly tentative after a miscarriage – I miscarried in May last year and we conceived shortly after, and everything felt a little bit too good to be true. But it all worked out well that time and I now have an 11 week old baby boy. Wishing you a safe and happy pregnancy!

    Like

    1. Thank you. 🙂 yea I post the occasional book review too, but I’m not too good at writing them. But I try at least to write something short and sweet for Good reads and amazon. An author puts so much effort into creating a good book. I feel like it is the least thing I can do to say thank you. Obviously I’d never write a review for a book I did not like. Reviews are super important to support the creators of our literature. It is such a hard line of work to try and make it in.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Absolutely the best wishes for a happy and healthy pregnancy, Sarina! I remember being limited to one cup of coffee per day when I was pregnant – felt like torture! And now? After many years of sleepless nights and way too much coffee, I’ve switched my habit to one cup of coffee in the morning and drink tea later in the day. Seems my body can’t fall asleep like it used to if I have caffeine after lunchtime now that I’m in my mid-40s. 😀
    Dear Stephanie was indeed a great read and nothing like I usually read, so that was a great surprise. I’ll have to check on some of your other mentions. Now, as for Anne Rice, I have always thought her brilliant. Her Mayfair Witches trilogy is one of my favorite reads of all time. I have recently rediscovered her after finding she’s written two books on her faith journey – fascinating! She has said much of her work reflects her personal spiritual struggles in life. With that information in hand, I’m planning to embark on a read/re-read through all of her work to read it with that lens in mind. Feels like being back in school…
    Glad you made it through A to Z. I could never keep up with that. I’m glad everyone is back to “normal” (whatever that is) and I can reconnect with my favorite bloggers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Lisa. I’ve not yet read Mayfair Witches, but will eventually . I’ve read one of Rice’s later books which was on the childhood of Jesus – and I thought it was really well written. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

